Thursday, August 27, 2015

The Felix Chronicles: Freshman Book Review


The Felix Chronicles: Freshmen

The Felix Chronicles

Book # 1

R.T. Lowe

Genre: New Adult Urban Fantasy
Release Date: May 11, 2015
Publisher: CreateSpace
                                                    
ISBN: 978-1511958431
ASIN: B00XIVXRBC

Pages: 500

Goodreads Rating:  4.16
My Rating: 4.5

Book Description:

Reeling from a terrible accident that claimed the lives of his parents, Felix arrives at Portland College hoping only to survive the experience. In time, however, his reality star roommate shows him there is more to higher education than just classes, shared bathrooms and bad dorm food, and Felix gradually dares to believe he can put his past behind him. But a fateful storm looms on the horizon: In the nearby woods, two hikers become the latest victims in a series of gruesome murders; a disfigured giant embarks on a vicious cross-country rampage, killing teenagers who fail his ‘test'; and an ancient society of assassins tasked with eradicating the wielders of a mysterious source of power awakens after a long silence. Only one man–the school’s groundskeeper–knows that the seemingly unrelated events are connected, and that an eighteen-year-old boy stands in the center of the storm.

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25714503-the-felix-chronicles

My Take On The Book:
 
This book was epic. When I first got the invite I was looking for another series that I could fall into something in the vein of Harry Potter, and I kind of felt like this might be it so I signed up. Best decision ever.

When I first started this book, I wasn't really sure where it was going. It jumped POVs a lot and while I love hearing from other characters I was really lost. Thankfully by the time i reached the mid to end of part 1(the book is split in 2 parts) the story started coming together and I was invested in the characters. By the end of Part two, I was completely hooked. I did not want to put the book down and I was really sad when it ended.

I absolutely adored Allison. And her relationship with our main character Felix is pretty bad ass. She is the perfect best friend and I may be the only one shipping Felix and Allison but I will stand true to my opinion that she would be the perfect girl for him. I love Caitlin and Lucas and all the fun little historical facts that are gently interwoven into a story and the setting. As you can probably tell there's one character I'm not a huge fan of and when you read the book you'll know a little bit more but I am NOT team Harper. She kind of annoys me.

This book has the magic aspect that I was originally looking for. But it's done in a completely different way, it's similar but different setting, and older characters.

And I definitely have to say that the action / fight scenes are on point. I also really like that this doesn't have the whole love triangle thing going for it; he is the typical college freshman boy. He single, interested in a girl, has friends, there really isn't much to it in that sense. Sure I particularly like one female character for him but his character doesn't have the should I or shouldn't I pick this person over this person. There were moments in this book where you start to think maybe he does have feelings for more than one girl but it doesn't have the love triangle feel. I can only hope that if it does go that way and he does end up having feelings for another female character, that it won't be done in your typical love triangle way.
4.5 Quills

I'm really looking forward to reading book 2 and seeing where these characters are heading. It does definitely have that Harry Potter feel I was looking for but with a college like setting and a chance to read in different character's POVs.

About The Author 


R.T. Lowe grew up in a small town in central Oregon where he frittered away his days on a cattle farm reading, writing and daydreaming about things without hooves. R.T. holds bachelor’s degrees in History and Psychology from Willamette University and a Law degree from Columbia University. He now lives in Newtown, Connecticut with his wife and three kids.


 
 
 
 
Thanks for stopping by,